Dude Land

I live in a land that I was not prepared for let alone thought I would flourish in. I live in a land of raised toilet seats , strange and horrific smells, and where the native language is more like grunts than English. I live as the only female in Dude Land.

At first, Dude Land seemed like a wild and free land where I could escape the whole “Mean Girl” phenomenon. When it was just Hubs, and Dude 1 it seemed like bliss. I could pamper, cuddle, and take care of all of their needs; then over the next few years we added Dudes 2 and 3 and chaos hit. Little Dudes or big Dudes they have some things in common and yet I was clueless.

I was ill prepared for what the last 21 years has taught me; especially considering I was raised by a single mom in an all female household. I was unfamilar with Dude culture, Dude language and struggling to make connections with such odd creatures. The first lesson that began to emerge was simple but profound.

Dudes have to be well-fed, well-watered, and well-slept.

I know, I know of course that makes sense but I can’t tell you how many times I set my own Dudes up for failure by violating one of the above rules. Yes, rules… Tatoo those on your arm if you have to but if you have a Dude of any age there are rules you must learn and follow. How many times have you seen your Toddler Dude, Preschool Dude, Elementary Dude, Teen Dude, or Adult Dude have an absolute melt down because he was either hungry, dehydrated, or tired?

Here in Dude Land nothing is ever really cleaned, picked up, or finished. It seems like when I finally manage to have a spotless area it is soon rearranged with some kind of sports gear, project, or empty dishes.  When one meal is finished here in Dude Land I am planning for the next. In Dude Land you always have to look before you sit on a toilet because no one likes a wet behind! Dude Land is all about giving Hubs and those 3 Dudes every opportunity to be men that make me proud.

Let me introduce you to the Dudes I live with. Hubs– He is an outstanding example of true masculinity. Both provider and protector here in Dude Land he helps me more than he probably knows. He is a great Dude and my husband of 21 years and makes me laugh more than anyone on Earth. Dude 1– He is presently 18 and a Senior in high school. He is legally blind and doesn’t drive which can be a total drag for both of us at times.  He has a wonderful sense of humor and is one of my hero’s! He loves football, NASCAR, and Brian Regan. Dude 2– He is 14, a Freshman, and a typical middle child; completely opposite of the first! He is an amazing baseball player, funny, and very dramatic. He is also very good with money~ We aren’t sure where he came from! He loves the Cardinals, college football, and singing. Dude 3– He will tell you we stopped when we reached perfection; spoken like a true baby of the family. He is 12 going on 27, in sixth grade, and thinks he is the answer to all the worlds problems. Joyous, yet with a serious side, he loves school, football, baseball, and music.

You can see all the Dudes are different! They are in different seasons, with different struggles, and have different needs. Please hear me for just a second here, they do all have needs, and one essential need is for a woman in their lives. A woman who understands them, and how they see the world. If you have had a Dude for more than a week you know they are very different from us.

I don’t know everything about raising and living with Dudes or even how I always manage to flourish in Dude Land but I invite you follow me if you live with Dudes too. I have learned some great rules and principles these last 21 years and would love to share them with you. I will share real life stories that have made me feel on top of my game and others where I have learned through failure. Feel free to post any questions or topics you would like to see. Let’s have some fun right here in Dude Land

2 thoughts on “Dude Land

  1. Carrie says:

    Soooo excited to read this!!!! As a mommy to three smaller dudes, I love your stories and wisdom.

Leave a comment